Latest Additions



Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2006 Archive (and earlier)


On this page >>        World Cup calendar            Points Awarded in each race




UCI Road World Cup 2007


Details courtesy UCI 

What is the World Cup?

The road World Cup is a series of 13 events in 2006 (growing from 11 in 2005, 9 in 2004 and 8 in 2003). The events take place throughout the season in different locations. Each World Cup event is a single day road race (or team time trial) and the winner and top 20 placed riders at each event are awarded points towards the overall series. The leader in the competition is identified by her white and blue leader's jersey (right). Frequently, the organisers of the an individual World Cup round will provide a 3 or 4 day stage race for competitors in the week before the World Cup event.

Nicole Cooke won the 2006 competition, taking enough points from the first 10 rounds to ensure victory without even having to ride the final round in Germany. She was in Nurnberg, riding with her team, Univega and they took the team prize in the final round. 

The 2005 competition was won by Australian, Oenone Wood, who rides for Équipe Nürnberger, which is based in Germany. Wood also won the competition in 2004.

WorldCupJersey.jpg (57872 bytes)

World Cup winner 2006 in the Leader's jersey, Nicole Cooke


World Cup Calendar

The 2007 calendar has 9 events in 2007. There were 12 events in 2006.

As has been the case in the previous three years, the final event of the year, the Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt will attract double points. 

World Cup events are open to UCI trade teams and national teams. 



01.03.2007  Womens World Cup - Geelong  AUS 
09.04.2007  Ronde van Vlaanderen / Tour des Flandres  BEL 
21.03.2007 Ronde van Drenthe NED
24.04.2007  La Flèche Wallonne  BEL 
14.05.2007  Berner-Rundfahrt / Tour de Berne  SUI 
03.06.2007  La Coupe du Monde Cycliste Féminine de Montréal  CAN 
05.08.2007  Open de Suède Vargarda  SWE 
27.08.2007  GP de Plouay  FRA 
11.09.2007  Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt  GER 



Points Awarded in Each Race 

Points are awarded to the top 20 placed competitor in each of the races. The rider with the highest cumulative total after each race will be awarded the World Cup leader's jersey. The rider with the highest cumulative total at the end of the World Cup is the World Cup champion. Riders are not required to compete in each round


Position 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Points 75 50 35 30 27 24 21 18 15 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1


Double points will be applied to the final event of the year - Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt - September 10 2007


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to Top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©