Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)




Linda Villumsen Danish Cyclist of the Year

Danish TT & RR Champion awarded overall title

Recognition of a great year


Linda Villumsen has been voted Cyclist of the Year by the readers of Danish publication "Cycling World". The 2006 Buitenpoort-Flexpoint rider has had a great year, winning both the Danish RR and TT Championships and La Route de France - the stage race held in August. She was also leader in several Young Rider competitions and on Overall classification in other races throughout the season. 

Villumsen beat some famous names from the men's peloton for the accolade. Other nominees for the award included Michael Rasmussen (the (Dutch) Tour de France Mountains jersey winner), Niki Oestergaard (Danish rider for the GLS team) and Brian Vandborg (Discovery Channel's Danish rider). 

Another woman who was nominated was Mie Lacota, who won medals in 2006 on the road and track at Danish Championships and who has also been European and World junior Champion.

Villumsen moves to the  T-Mobile team in 2007.


Villumsen in action during the Holland Ladies Tour, 2006


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006