Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)





Australian Cyclists of the Year

Awards in all disciplines

Cycling Australia Media release

Track Cyclist of the Year

Anna Meares OAM - Meares overcame a career threatening back injury to post a winning ride in the 500m time trial at the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne where she also picked up silver in the sprint. She won the sprint at the Sydney round of the World Cup and at the World Titles posted the second fastest 500m time to claim silver.  She is also the reigning Oceania Champion in the sprint and time trial. 

cyclingnews.com Female Road Cyclist of the Year

Oenone Wood - Wood began the season with her third straight overall victory in the Geelong Tour and a month later was celebrating gold in the time trial at the Commonwealth Games. In the road race in Melbourne she led home the main bunch to clinch a silver medal. Oenone also celebrated a stage win in the Tour de l’Aude in France.

Female BMX Cyclist of the Year

Renee Junga - Junga topped the UCI Continental rankings for 2006 and reached the semi finals at the World Championships. She is Australia’s top ranked female on the World Standings in sixth position.

Female MTB Cyclist of the Year

Katrina Miller - Miller's final year of international competition saw her again challenging on the international stage. She won the 4X at the Mont St Anne World Cup (CAN) and was second in both the German and Brazilian rounds to finish the Series ranked fourth overall.

Female Masters Cyclist of the Year

Lorraine Schutz (Masters 5) - Schutz is the reigning road time trial World Champion and the Australian Champion in the individual pursuit. She also claimed silver in the road time trial and bronze in the road race at the Australian Championships.

Toyota Female AWD Cyclist of the Year

Lindy Hou OAM & pilots Toireasa Gallagher & Janelle Lindsay. (BVI) - Hou and Gallagher returned from the World Championships in Switzerland with new rainbow jerseys after victories in the pursuit on the track and in the road race. Earlier in the year Hou teamed with Lindsay to win gold at the Australian Track Championships in the time trial and sprint.

Sportscover Junior Female BMX Cyclist of the Year

Melissa Mankowski - Mankowski was a finalist in the Junior Championship Class at the World Championships where she finished fourth. She also topped the UCI Continental rankings and claimed the gold medal at the National Championships.

Sportscover Junior Female MTB Cyclist of the Year

Tracey Hannah - Hannah had an exceptional year in 2006. She was the series champion and won up two rounds in the elite division of the NORBA series and ended her season with a gold medal winning ride to be crowned Junior Women’s Downhill World Champion.

Sportscover Junior Female Track Cyclist of the Year

Tess Downing
- Downing claimed bronze in the scratch race at the World Championships where she also finished fifth in the points race and sixth in the pursuit. She was named Champion of Champions at the Nationals where she claimed three gold and a silver medal.

Sportscover Junior Female Road Cyclist of the Year

Peta Mullens - Mullens took out overall honours in the National Series and scored three silver medals at the Australian Championships in the road race, time trial and criterium.

National Road Series Champion

Female - Vicki Whitelaw

Australian Club Premiership

Midlands Club - WA

Norm Gailey Trophy

New South Wales



Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©