Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklink >>   Meares in best form since Athens   Australia seeks 'women with big engines'   

                               Australian Team for World Championships   Sprinters repeat finals from a week ago  

                              Australian Sprinters Begin Beijing Campaign  Junior Team for World Championships  

                              Australia's World Track Champs TEAM   Australia's Track World Champs Squad   

                            Australia's Commonwealth Games Team   Sydney Track World Cup Team   Junior Track Worlds Team

On this page >>   Road squad     Track squad    MTB squad 



Cycling Australia announces Melbourne 2006 squad

World, Olympic and Commonwealth Champions to compete 

Cycling Australia Website

The 33 member strong Australian Cycling Team to contest the 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games boasts World, Olympic and Commonwealth Games champions along with a new crop of talent all hungry to win medals.

The road team includes two Olympic Champions in Sara Carrigan, the 2004 Athens gold medallist and Kathryn Watt who 12 years earlier claimed gold on the road at the Barcelona Olympic Games and will line up in her fourth Commonwealth Games. World ranked number one Oenone Wood; World Cup round winner Rochelle Gilmore and seasoned European based professionals Olivia Gollan and Natalie Bates have also been selected. Alexis Rhodes, who has made a courageous comeback to top level competition after suffering horrific injuries in the German road accident last year, has also been named.

The credentials of the cyclists selected for the track team illustrate why Australia is the number one ranked track cycling nation in the world; Anna Meares; Olympic and dual Manchester Commonwealth Games champion, Kerrie Meares; 2005 World Cup Kilometre Series winner, Kate Mactier; World Champion and Kate Bates; Commonwealth Champion.

Claire Baxter, Emma Colson and Dellys Starr have been selected for the women's mountain bike.

All those named have met the criteria for nomination according to the Cycling Australia Selection Policy. Although the athletes have been named by discipline they may, at the discretion of team management coaches, be entered in other disciplines.

Track cycling was introduced at the 1934 Empire Games where Edgar 'Dunc' Gray in the time trial won Australia's first gold medal on the track. Road cycling was added in 1938 and cross country mountain bike in 2002. Australians have won 64 gold, 47 silver and 30 bronze medals in Commonwealth Games competition including 10 gold, seven silver and six bronze in Manchester in 2002. Kathy Watt is Australia's most prolific Commonwealth Games cycling medal winner with four gold, one silver and one bronze from her three appearances in 1990, 1994 and 1998.

The Meares and Bates sisters bring to five the sets of siblings selected so far for the Melbourne Commonwealth Games team.

In announcing the team, Australian Commonwealth Games Association CEO Perry Crosswhite said the squad contains some of the biggest names in Australian sport, along with a number of remarkable comebacks.

"The Australian track squad is number one in the world, and our road and mountain bike riders are also feared by the opposition.

"Special mention should be made of the return of Kathy Watt, who will compete in her fourth Games to provide an appropriate bookend to her career, which began with a gold medal in the road race in Auckland in 1990.

"And Alexis Rhodes, who we have all followed with such interest following the tragedy that occurred in Germany last year. Alexis epitomises the character of the great Australian sportsperson and we are thrilled to welcome her to the team," Mr Crosswhite said.

2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games Cycling Team

Road Cycling Track Cycling Mountain Bike
Natalie Bates (NSW) 
Sara Carrigan (QLD) 
Rochelle Gilmore (NSW) 
Olivia Gollan (NSW)
Alexis Rhodes (SA) 
Kathryn Watt (VIC) 
Oenone Wood (ACT)
Katherine Bates (NSW) 
Katie Mactier (VIC) 
Anna Meares (QLD) 
Kerrie Meares (QLD)



Claire Baxter (VIC) 
Emma Colson (VIC) 
Dellys Starr (VIC)






Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006