Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


UCI Road World Cup 2006

World Cup Coverage  >>   2009   2008    2007    2006    2005

WCN quicklink >> Nurnberg (Series Final) Results   Nürnberg Preview  Rotterdam Results  Plouay Results  Plouay Preview  

                            Århus Results   Århus Preview   Vårgårda results   Vårgårda Preview   Montreal Results  

                          GP Castilla y Leon Results  Berne Results   Fleche Wallone Results  Flanders Results   Wellington Results   

                            Geelong Results  Wellington (Round 2) Preview  Geelong (Round 1) Preview   Primavera Rosa cancelled     


On this page >>   Write-up   Brief results   World Cup Standings in brief  Photos



Melchers defends Flanders title

Ina Yoko-Teutenberg retains World Cup lead

Sunday2 April 2006, 112km 

Race Website


Mirjam Melchers van Poppel (Buitenpoort-Flexpoint) scored an important victory in the third edition of the Tour of Flanders for women. Last year, she won the race, but only after a lead group had followed official cars into the deviation and missed the finish. They clearly should have continued on the parcours for the final km of the race. 

In 2006, Melchers created her own destiny. She was out on her own for the final stages of the event, chased hard by Christiane Soeder (Univega Pro Team), who maintained her position despite losing fellow chaser, Edwig Pitel (Biancho - Aliverti- Kookai). In fact, Soeder caught Melchers in the final run-in to the finish, but was unable to take on the Dutchwoman in the sprint. 

Melchers had accelerated strongly on the Valkenberg, to make the race-winning move - a similar point in the race to where both the previous editions' winning moves have been made. Melchers had been part of a break which included the pair of Soeder and Pitel earlier in the race. The Valkenberg is placed 80km into the race, 32km from the finish and provides an ideal position for riders to escape for a lone victory. Melchers' team-mate Loes Gunnewijk, who joined the Buitenpoort team over the winter, opened up a small gap on her group of three to finish third.   

The result is enough to keep Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (T-Mobile) in the World Cup leader's jersey for another round. The German finished eleventh, 2 minutes 38 seconds down on Melchers van Poppel.

Next World Cup race takes place after the Track World Championships (Bordeaux) on 19th April. The Fleche Wallone sees the riders taking on part of the course used by the men in their "Classic" Pro Tour event.

Back to Top



Posn Name Nation Team Time / Gap
1 Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel NED Buitenpoort-Flexpoint 3.16.57
2 Christiane Soeder AUT Univega Pro Team 0.01
3 Loes Gunnewijk NED Buitenpoort-Flexpoint 0.53
4 Zoulfia Zabirova KAZ Bigla Cycling Team 0.58
5 Edwige Pitel FRA Bianchi-Aliverti-Kookai
6 Nicole Cooke GBR Univega Pro Team 1.2
7 Theresa Senff GER AA-Drink Cycling Team
8 Susanne Ljungskog SWE Buitenpoort-Flexpoint
9 Judith Arndt GER T-Mobile
10 Sharon Van Dromme BEL Vlaanderen-Caprisonne-T Interim 1.31

Back to Top


World Cup Standings in brief

Rank Name Team Points
1 Ina-Yoko Teutenberg T-Mobile 120
2 = Mirjam Melchers van Poppel Buitenpoort-Flexpoint 75
2 = Sarah Ulmer  New Zealand 75
4 Miho Oki Nobili Rubinetterie 73
5 Tina Pic USA 57

Back to Top



IMG_0715 IMG_0722 IMG_0726 IMG_0753 IMG_0776
IMG_0778 IMG_0783 IMG_0784 IMG_0786 IMG_0798
IMG_0810 IMG_0815 IMG_0826 IMG_0878 IMG_0882
IMG_0891 IMG_0907 IMG_0911 IMG_0951 IMG_0961

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©