Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)



United States National Track Championships



WCN quicklink >>   Day 1     Day 2     Day 3     Day 4


USA Cycling Website




On this page >>  Write-up       Results   


Day 4 - Reed, Hammer complete sweep as USA elite track National Championships conlude

October 5 - 8, Carson, California


Race Writeup

The 2006 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships concluded Saturday after Jennie Reed (Spike) and Sarah Hammer (Ouch) added more stars-and-stripes jerseys to their closets. Reed claimed two more national titles to sweep the women's sprint events with four victories and Hammer won the women's 15-kilometer scratch race to score a hat trick in the endurance events.

After successfully defending her sprint and 500-meter time trial victories earlier in the week, Reed won the keirin and teamed up with Liz Carlson (East Coast Velo) to win the women's team sprint Saturday.

Hammer, already the individual pursuit champion and points race winner, claimed the scratch race after pulling back a late race breakaway and holding off Becky Quinn (Spike) for the win.

Together, Hammer and Reed were the most dominant competitors in the four-day event as one or the other stood on the top step of all six individual event podiums.

In the keirin, Reed easily sailed into the finals with wins in each of her two preliminary rounds. There she squared off against Michelle Bono (Eddie B. Cycling), Kacey Manderfield (Wolverine-Lees McRae), Anna Lang (Big City Velo), Catherine Fiedler (The Home Depot Center) and Cari Higgins (Hammer Racing). In the six-woman mass-start event, Reed held the front position when the pace bike peeled off the track and kept everyone at bay to hang on for her third individual title of the week.

Earlier in the evening, Reed and Carlson paired up to post a 36.19-second mark in their qualifying round to earn the top seed in the women's team sprint. In the gold-medal final, Reed and Carlson beat the second-seeded squad comprised of Martha Dunne (Jelly Belly) and Lang for the national title.

In the bronze-medal ride, Hammer and Shelby Allen (Major Motion) beat Higgins and Katie Compton (Spike). Not necessarily known for her sprinting ability, Hammer's team sprint medal was her fourth of the week.

In the women's 15-kilometer scratch race, Hammer and Quinn entered as the favorites, but when a late-race breakaway of Miranda Duff (CPT-Colnago), Kimberly Geist (Victory Brewing), Christen King (Young's Training Group) and Kori Seehafer (TEAm Lipton) escaped, it looked as though an underdog would score the upset. Ultimately though, the foursome didn't have enough horsepower to fend off the Hammer-led chase from behind.

 The break was caught with two laps of the 40-lap race remaining and Hammer continued to lead out the sprint with Quinn on her wheel. The reigning individual pursuit world champion showed why she's one of the top endurance riders in the world, keeping the pace high enough at the front to prevent anyone from sprinting around her at the line.


Back to Top




1. Jennie Reed 

2. Anna Lang 

3. Michelle Bono 

4. Catherine Fiedler 

5. Kacey Manderfield 


Scratch Race

1. Sarah Hammer

2. Becky Quinn 

3. Theresa Clif-Ryan 

4. Catherine Fiedler 

5. Anna Webb 


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006