Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Thüringen Rundfarht


WCN quicklink >>  Prologue     Stage 1    Stage 2    Stage 3    Stage 3 Full results    Stage 4a     Stage 4a Full

                             Stage 4b    Stage 4b Full    Stage 5    Stage 5 Full   Amy Gillett Memorial 

Race Website


On this page >>  Write-up      Comments     Results      General Classification     Photos



Stage 1

Triebes - Greiz, 131km 


Race Writeup

Hanka Kupfernagel looked shocked, then surprised when it was announced that she is the new leader of the Thüringen Rundfarht. A local of the region, Kupfernagel was second at the 2000 Olympics and is a German National Team rider in this event.

Kupfernagel came in third, behind stage winner, Angela Brodka (AA Drink), another German, which was enough to steal the yellow jersey from Austrian National road and time trial champion, Christiane Soeder (Univega). The bonus seconds on the line were enough to change the General Classifcaiotion.

The race started with the bunch unwilling to push matters in the scorching heat of another afternoon without clouds. The 131km stage from Triebes to Greiz was finally pushed into action by an attack from Kimberly Bruckner Baldwin (T-Mobile), who gained a gap of 3 minutes in the first hour. Emanuela Azzini (Nobili) also made a solo break mid-stage.

By the time the race entered the finish town of Greiz, before heading out on a 25km loop to end the stage, everything was back together again. A hectic sprint into the finish through relatively narrow roads caused no problem for Angela Brodka, as she beat Nicole Cooke (Univega) to the line ahead of a bunch of sprinters. Kupfernagel was third.


Back to Top


Post Race Comments

Hanka Kuperfernagel : "I am definitely not a sprinter", she laughed "however, I want to wear the yellow leader's jersey for as long as possible in my home region."

Back to Top


Results - Top 6

Position Name Team Time / Gap
1 Angela Brodka AA Drink  3:47:47
2 Nicole Cooke Univega same
3 Hanka Kupfernagel German National Team same
4 Oenone Wood Nurnberger same
5 Sigrid Corneo Nobili same
6 Annette Beutler Buitenpoort-Flexpoint same


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 


Position Name Team Time / Gap
1 Hanka Kupfernagel German National Team   3:52:56
2 Christiane Soeder Univega 00:01
3 Nicole Cooke Univega 00:01
4 Linda Villumsen Buitenpoort 00:05
5 Zulfia Zabirowa Team Bigla 00:08
6 Karin Thürig Univega 00:12
7 Trixi Worrack Nurnberger 00:14
8 Diana Ziliute Team Safi 00:14
9 Amber Neben Buitenpoort-Felxpoint 00:14
10 Ann van Rie Belgian National Team 00:15



Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

IMG_8588 IMG_8596 IMG_8618 IMG_8690 IMG_8700
IMG_8731 IMG_8746 IMG_8748 IMG_8755 IMG_8782
IMG_8793 IMG_8828 IMG_8845  IMG_8858


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©