Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Nature Valley Grand Prix 2006


WCN quicklink >> Preview    Race 1      Race 1 Full       Race 2     Race 2 Full     Race 3    Race 3 Full   

                                              Race 4     Race 4 Full     Race 5    Race 5 Full      2005 coverage

Nature Valley Grand Prix Website

Women's Prestige Series Website




On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification     Photos


Race 3 - Van Gilder takes razor-thin, rain-drenched crit at Nature Valley

Minneapolis Downtown Classic - Criterium, 40 minutes

By Steven Kay

Race Writeup

For the third consecutive year, rain played a major factor in the Minneapolis Downtown Classic, the third stage of the Great River Energy’s Nature Valley Grand Prix.

Heavy rain and hail hit the course about an hour before the scheduled start, delaying the start of the race by 15 minutes and shortening it from 45 to 30 minutes.

The shortened race, though, didn’t short-change the spectators or racers from the drama, as TEAm Lipton’s Laura Van Gilder took the hotly contested finish from Victory Brewing’s Katharine Carroll.

Van Gilder’s victory continued TEAm Lipton’s dominance, with overall leader Kristin Armstrong keeping the leader’s jersey and both Armstrong and Kori Seehofer in contention throughout the race. Armstrong also picked up a time bonus by taking the first sprint of the 1-mile, 6-corner criterium.

Van Gilder’s victory was not assured. While the team lined up the train to launch her in the final lap, initially it appeared that Carroll had nipped her at the line. Only after a protest and more than 30 minutes did Carroll learn the victory was awarded to van Gilder.

“I knew going into the final stretch that it was going to be tough to keep up with them,” she said. “They were really in control throughout. So I tried to make my move just before that on the back with the crosswind.”

The wet pavement and threat of more rain certainly played a role in the riders’ ability to move up in the beginning. TEAm Lipton attempted to control much of the race, keeping their leader near the front and out of trouble.

“It was a little slick out there for the first couple laps, but after that things seemed to go rather smoothly,” Carroll said.

Early in the race, Argon 18/Champion Systems rider Katie Mactier – a former champion of the Nature Valley Grand Prix – jumped out to an early lead and seemed to be a contender until a flat tire sidelined her during the third lap. A mechanical also took Thursday’s second stage winner, Palo Alto Bicycle Works/TIBCO's Brooke Miller, out of contention with a couple of laps to go.

Among the lead group was defending Nature Valley Grand Prix champion and Webcor-Platinum Builder’s rider Christine Thorburn, who maintained her second place on GC.

The Nature Valley Grand Prix continues Saturday with an 86-mile road race through Mankato, Minn., which features a 4-lap circuit finish that includes a 14-percent climb. The Nature Valley Grand Prix concludes Sunday in Stillwater.


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result   25.013 mph  - 14.167miles

Position Name / Surname Team Time Gap Bonuses
1.   Laura Van Gilder TEAm Lipton .33'59"      15"  
2.   Katharine Carroll * Victory Brewing Team .33'59"      10"  
3.   Gina Grain Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Team .33'59"      6"  
4.   Tina Pic Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Team .33'59"        
5.   Anne Samplonius Team Biovail Pro Cycling .33'59"        
6.   Shannon Hutchison-Krupa Aaron's Pro Women's Cycling .33'59"        
7.   Teresa Moriarty Flanders/MBRC .33'59"      1"  
8.   Alex Wrubleski * Team Biovail Pro Cycling .33'59"      8"  
9.   Katie Mactier Argon 18/Champion System .33'59"        
10.   Kristin Armstrong TEAm Lipton .33'59"      13"  

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Rider Team Time Gap
1.   Kristin Armstrong TEAm Lipton 3.21'14"     
2.   Christine Thorburn Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 3.21'33"   19"  
3.   Kori Seehafer TEAm Lipton 3.21'45"   31"  
4.   Erinne Willock * Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 3.21'51"   37"  
5.   Sue Palmer-Komar Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Team 3.21'57"   43"  
6.   Alex Wrubleski * Team Biovail Pro Cycling 3.21'59"   45"  
7.   Felicia Gomez Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 3.22'02"   48"  
8.   Sarah Ulmer Jazz Apple Cycling Team 3.22'10"   56"  
9.   Laura Van Gilder TEAm Lipton 3.22'12"   58"  
10.   Anne Samplonius Team Biovail Pro Cycling 3.22'14"   1'00"  


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>


3_DSC0034 3_DSC0039 3_DSC0091 3_DSC5681 3_DSC5683
3_DSC5706 3_DSC5708 3_DSC5710 3_DSC5713 3_DSC5725
3_DSC5747 3_DSC5767 3_DSC5825 3_DSC5838 3_DSC5861


Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©