Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Nature Valley Grand Prix 2006


WCN quicklink >> Preview    Race 1      Race 1 Full       Race 2     Race 2 Full     Race 3    Race 3 Full   

                                              Race 4     Race 4 Full     Race 5    Race 5 Full      2005 coverage

Nature Valley Grand Prix Website

Women's Prestige Series Website

On this page >>  Write-up         Results      General Classification     Photos



Race 2 - Rookie screams to win in second stage of Nature Valley Grand Prix

Canon Falls Road Race  - 60 miles

By Steven Kay

Race Writeup

The second stage of Great River Energy’s Nature Valley Grand Prix ended as expected, with some of the most talented and most experienced female riders in the world in a mad sprint for the finish.

In the end, though, it was a rookie and a local amateur who stood atop two of the tree podium places.

Palo Alto Bicycle Works/TIBCO’s Brooke Miller seized the moment to capture the 58.6-mile Cannon Falls Road Race, ahead of Jazz Apple Cycling’s Sarah Ulmer and local women’s legend and Flanders/MBRC racer Teresa Moriarty.

An overjoyed Miller was at a loss after the race. She screamed after crossing the finish line and came back to the line to hug her coach and teammates.

I’m speechless, this is amazing. To be a first year rider and to win a race of this magnitude is amazing,” Miller said. “Especially going against women like Tina Pic, who showed me that it is never too old to get started in the sport. 

The 29 year-old Miller, was also quick to praise her teammates and mentor.

Linda Jackson and the whole TIBCO team are amazing, I couldn’t have won this without them,” she said.

Moriarty, a dominating force on the local women’s racing scene and also known to race and beat the men in some of their races, was a bit more subdued with her third place finish.

It truly is a pleasure to race in world class event like this, right in here in Minnesota,” said the 5th grade school teacher from Plymouth.

While Pic’s name was mentioned at the end, it was the only presence she had at the finish with the leader’s group as she and other sprinters and GC hopefuls were left behind because of crashes and strong crosswinds. A major crash less than 10 miles into the event cut off several strong racers, including Alison Powers who entered the day third overall.

Among 17 riders in the lead group were race leader TEAm Lipton’s Kristin Armstrong and teammate Kori Seehafer, and defending Nature Valley Grand Prix Champion Christine Thorburn of Webcor/Platinum Builders. The lead group’s advantage over the rest of the field eventually ballooned from 20 seconds to well over 3 minutes.

Thursday’s action earned Seehofer the SportsPro Most Aggressive Rider Jeresy, while Webcor/Platinum’s Erinne Willock retained her BMC Best Young Rider Jersey and moved into third overall, behind Armstrong and Thorburn.

 The Great River Energy Bike Festival’s Nature Valley Grand Prix continues Friday with the Minneapolis Downtown Classic.

Back to Top



Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result    Provisional

Position Rider Team Time Gap Bonuses Penalty
1.   Brooke Miller PABW Powered by TIBCO 2.38'03"      15"     
2.   Sarah Ulmer Jazz Apple Cycling Team 2.38'03"      10"     
3.   Teresa Moriarty Flanders/MBRC 2.38'03"      6"     
4.   Kristin Armstrong TEAm Lipton 2.38'03"           
5.   Rebecca Larson * Aaron's Pro Women's Cycling 2.38'03"           
6.   Sue Palmer-Komar Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Team 2.38'03"           
7.   Christine Thorburn Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 2.38'03"           
8.   Anne Samplonius Team Biovail Pro Cycling 2.38'03"           
9.   Alex Wrubleski * Team Biovail Pro Cycling 2.38'03"           
10.   Carmen Small TRIA 2.38'03"           


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Rider Team Time Gap
1.   Kristin Armstrong TEAm Lipton 2.47'28"     
2.   Christine Thorburn Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 2.47'34"   6"  
3.   Kori Seehafer TEAm Lipton 2.47'51"   23"  
4.   Erinne Willock * Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 2.47'52"   24"  
5.   Sue Palmer-Komar Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Team 2.47'58"   30"  
6.   Felicia Gomez Webcor-Platinum Women's Cycling Team 2.48'03"   35"  
7.   Alex Wrubleski * Team Biovail Pro Cycling 2.48'08"   40"  
8.   Sarah Ulmer Jazz Apple Cycling Team 2.48'11"   43"  
9.   Anne Samplonius Team Biovail Pro Cycling 2.48'15"   47"  
10.   Carmen Small TRIA 2.48'21"   53"  


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

2_DSC5146 2_DSC5203 2_DSC5225 2_DSC5495 2_DSC5545
2_DSC5558   2_DSC5578    


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©