Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklink >>      2007 coverage        2006 coverage      2005 coverage       2004 coverage


2006 coverage  >>  Overview  Race 1 results  Race 2 results  Race 3 results  Race 4 results  Race 5 results 

                                          Amy's Ride  Amy Gillett Scholarship

On this page >>   Result       Photos 



Kate Bates - the final race victory

Bates sprints to victory in Melbourne's Docklands, Mactier takes the series


Race Website

The final race in the Jayco Bay Series put the cap on a wonderful week of racing. Once again, the weather was sunny and hot. There was a light tailwind along the finishing straight of the 1km "hot dog" circuit.

The race started fast and as has been the case all Series this year, there was not really any significant move until after the first intermediate sprint. In an early move, newly crowned Australian criterium Champion, Alexis Rhodes, made a move. She was quickly brought back to the bunch. Kate Bates also made an attack; she jumped away on the back straight and her move was quickly marked by Jenny Macpherson - team-mate to the Series Leader, Katie Mactier. The move lasted a couple of laps and was then brought back. Soon afterwards, Kate Nichols took a quick peek over her shoulder and tried to go on her own. 

Nichols managed to open up quite a gap and looked like she might stay away for the win, until a small chasing group consisting of Jessie Maclean (Canberra), Emma Rickards (Jayco VIS) and Jo Kiesonowski (Pitcher Partners) went out to bring her back. It was a day of move after tactical move and as soon as Nichols was returned to the bunch, Amanda Spratt accelerated away from the bunch. 

Spratt's move was a brave one. She quickly gained a lead of 10 seconds, but was chased down by another 3 person chase group - Jenny Macpherson (Jayco VIS), Hayley Brown (Pitcher Partners) and a policing attempt by Sally Cowman, one of Spratt's team-mates from Werribee Mansion Hotel / NSWIS. Inevitably, Spratt was brought back to the bunch.

The final corner saw Kate Bates in a good position and as the accelerating pack moved into the final few hundred metres of the race, the she was ahead. A glance over her shoulder with 100m to convinced Bates that she was almost home and dry. She put in a sprint to maintain her first place and although Oenone Wood and Kate Nichols, along with Katie Mactier and Belinda Goss were fighting to catch her, none of them was quick enough. Oenone Wood, who has won at Docklands for the past 2 years was second and Kate Nichols, third. Mactier was fourth and that sealed her Series win. Kate Nichols took the series-long award for 


Back to Top



1   Kate Bates      (Pitcher Partners)                          12 points

2   Oenone Wood  (Mercure Hotel Welcome)             10 points

3   Kate Nichols                                                         8 points

5   Katie Mactier   (Jayco VIS)                                     7 points



Series winner - Katie Mactier

Sprints winner - Jo Kiesonowski


Back to Top


Photos - click on any image to enlarge >> 


IMG_01804 IMG_01811 IMG_01828 IMG_01857 IMG_01859
IMG_01866 IMG_01869 IMG_01883 IMG_01888 IMG_01891
IMG_0699 IMG_0701 IMG_0724 IMG_0727 IMG_0729
IMG_0732 IMG_0745 IMG_0749 IMG_0757 IMG_0758
IMG_0775 IMG_0791 IMG_0798 IMG_0846 IMG_0849
IMG_0851 IMG_0869 IMG_0874 IMG_0906 IMG_0913
IMG_0929 IMG_0932 IMG_0934 IMG_1176 IMG_1179

Back to Top




Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006