Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Holland Ladies Tour



WCN quicklink >>   Stage 1      Stage 1 Full     Stage 2     Stage 2 Full    Stage 3   Stage 3 Full   Stage 4A   Stage 4A Full

                              Stage 4B   Stage 4B Full   Stage 5    Stage 5 Full     Stage 6    Stage 6 Full


Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up       Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 5

Oirschot 123.6km


Race Writeup

After some attempts by others, a race defining breakaway went away at about half distance. Vera Carrara (Italy), Elodie Toufet (Nobili) and Sara Düster (Univega) went away and didn't look back. They gained over 2 minutes at one point in their break, but the bunch, driven by Buitenpoort-Flexpoint brought them back to an advantage of only 29 seconds by the finish.

Race leader after the Team Time Trial (Stage 4B), Susanne Ljungskog (Buitenpoort-Flexpoint) was well looked-after by her team-mates, anxious to protect the 46 second advantage she had over Suzanne de Goede (AA Drink) and Trixi Worrack (Nürnberger). Whilst it did the team no harm that the three away were no threat on GC, they chased the break for the final 25km, brining the time gap down by over 1 1/2 minutes in that closing distance.

The course took the riders through the town of Oirschot for three closing laps, so the leading riders got a look at the finish line. The line was positioned on a relatively tight left hand bend. As the three leaders sprinted, Vera Carrara (Italy) led them in, she was tight up against the right side barrier, preventing either of the others coming around her from that side. Not that she needed to worry, Toufet and Düster were easily beaten by the track World Champion.

Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Surname Name Team Time / Gap
1 CARRARA  Vera ITA 3h06'32"
2 TOUFFET  Elodie NMC 00"
3 DÜSTER  Sarah UPT 00"
4 BRONZINI  Giorgia ITA 29"
5 HENNES  Tanja BFL 29"
6 BRODTKA  Angela GER 29"
7 VISSER  Adrie AAD 29"
8 VOS  Marianne RE1 29"
9 LJUNGSKOG  Susanne BFL 29"
10 ANDREASEN  Mette ALI 29"


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Surname Name Team Time / Gap
1 LJUNGSKOG  Susanne BFL 15h04'17"
3 VILLUMSEN  Linda BFL 10"
4 SANDIG  Madeleine BFL 23"
5 DE GOEDE  Suzanne AAD 46"
6 WILD  Kirsten AAD 48"
7 VISSER  Adrie AAD 50"
8 WORRACK  Trixi NUR 53"
9 BRONZINI  Giorgia ITA 1'20"
10 HENNES  Tanja BFL 1'24"


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

IMG_1629 IMG_1641 IMG_1654 IMG_1658 IMG_1665
IMG_1674 IMG_1680 IMG_1685 IMG_1690 IMG_1701
IMG_1715 IMG_1719 IMG_1878 IMG_1879 IMG_1895
IMG_1901 IMG_1918 IMG_1919 IMG_1926 IMG_1928
IMG_1936 IMG_1947 IMG_1949 IMG_1953 IMG_1956
IMG_1957 IMG_1960 IMG_1978 IMG_1981 IMG_1994
IMG_2000 IMG_2001 IMG_2028    


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©