Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Holland Ladies Tour



WCN quicklink >>   Stage 1      Stage 1 Full     Stage 2     Stage 2 Full    Stage 3   Stage 3 Full   Stage 4A   Stage 4A Full

                              Stage 4B   Stage 4B Full   Stage 5    Stage 5 Full     Stage 6    Stage 6 Full


Race Website




On this page >>  Write-up      Results      General Classification     Photos


Stage 2

Asse (Belgium) - 122km


Race Writeup

It was another wet day for the riders in the Holland Ladies Tour today. The race moved temporarily to Belgium for the stage. The course was 5 laps of a tough undulating circuit based on Asse, close to Brussels. 

The bunch stayed pretty much together for the first couple of laps, then a break got away on the third. It contained riders from the major teams, including: Susanne Ljungskog (Buitenpoort-Flexpoint), Suzanne De Goede (AA Drink), Judith Arndt (T-Mobile) and Sharon van Dromme (Vlaanderen). These riders were joined by Sarah Duester (Univega), Trixi Worrack (Nürnberger) and a member of the Italian National Team about 10km later.

However, the bunch was only 20 seconds behind as the break passed through the start / finish with 2 laps to go). Riders continued to cross the gap, including several from Équipe Nürnberger - race leader, Regina Schleicher's team. A large leading bunch eventually formed on the wet roads during the final 20km of racing.

The pace picked up through the lanes and the speed was considerable in the closing kilometres, which were downhill. Approaching the line, several riders were in contention, but none could touch the acceleration of T-Mobile's Ina-Yoko Teutenberg. She crossed the line, gave a cheer and a two-handed salute, a hard-earned, but impressive win for the German sprinter.


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result


Position Surname Name Team Time / Gap
1 TEUTENBERG  Ina Yoko TMP h06'13"
2 BRONZINI  Giorgia ITA 00"
4 KIESANOWSKI Joanne Marie UPT 00"
5 SCHLEICHER  Regina NUR 00"
6 ANDREASEN  Mette ALI 00"
7 BRODTKA  Angela GER 00"
8 WILD  Kirsten AAD 00"
9 HENNES  Tanja BFL 00"
10 GUNNEWIJK  Loes BFL 00"


Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Surname Name Team Time / Gap
1 SCHLEICHER  Regina NUR 6h13'03"
2 BRODTKA  Angela GER 04"
3 BRONZINI  Giorgia ITA 04"
4 ANDREASEN  Mette ALI 06"
5 ZILIUTE  Diana SAF 06"
6 LJUNGSKOG  Susanne BFL 06"
8 KIESANOWSKI Joanne Marie UPT 07"
10 DE GOEDE  Suzanne AAD 09"


Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

IMG_1268 IMG_1272 IMG_1275 IMG_1284 IMG_1294
IMG_1297 IMG_1303 IMG_1330 IMG_1336 IMG_1338
IMG_1346 IMG_1361 IMG_1374 IMG_1375 IMG_1386
IMG_1389 IMG_1433 IMG_1434 IMG_1435 IMG_1437
IMG_1453 IMG_1463 IMG_1524  IMG_1527


Back to Top





Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©