Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Australian Grand Prix of Cycling



WCN quicklink >> Preview     Time Trial    Criterium    Road Race





On this page >>  Write-up      Results    


Road Race

91.8km Mount Bunninyong Circuit, near Ballarat.


Race Writeup

Victoria’s world champion pursuiter Katie Mactier used the women’s race over 91.8 km as preparation for what lies ahead on the track. That preparation resulted in her destroying the heart and souls of her opponents, winning by 3.49 minutes from fellow Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club members Briana James and Maryam Rogers.

Mactier dedicated the win to her parents Alexis and Bruce, who were at Mt Buninyong to enjoy her exploits.

Dad hasn’t been well lately, so hopefully my win will cheer him up a bit,” she said. “I really enjoyed the race, although it was very tough. I spent the first five or six laps just sussing out who was riding well and who to watch. But when an opportunity came up with three laps to go, I thought I’d give it a try. I didn’t expect to win by so much, but I kept thinking if I’m hurting this much, then the others must be hurting as well.”

Mactier summed up the difficulty of the course at Mt Buninyong with a simple statement, “This isn’t a lucky course – you’ve got to judge it right and then execute that judgement.”

Briana James was the star performer in the women’s racing throughout the ACPG, snaring three podium placings and the overall aggregate.


Back to Top



Position Surname / Name Club / Nation Time Gap
1  MACTIER, Katie Carnegie Caulfield CC 02:59:31.00 00:00:00.00
2  JAMES, Briana Carnegie Caulfield CC 03:03:20.00 00:03:49.00
3  ROGERS, Maryam Carnegie Caulfield CC 03:03:20.00 00:03:49.00
4  FOSTER, Cristine St Kilda Cycling Club Inc 03:03:20.00 00:03:49.00
5  THOMAS, Tory Albury-Wodonga CC 03:03:20.00 00:03:49.00
6  MCKECHNIE, Clare Bendigo & District CC 03:03:25.00 00:03:54.00
7  BERRY, Jessica Bendigo & District CC 03:04:09.00 00:04:38.00
8  HAYMAN, Elizabeth Canberra Cycling Club 03:06:06.00 00:06:35.00
9  KENESSY, Gemma Brunswick Cycling Club Inc 03:08:31.00 00:09:00.00
10  FRAWLEY, Stephanie Mildura-Coomealla C.C. 03:09:06.00 00:09:35.00
11  HANLEY, Monique Warragul Cycling Club Inc 03:12:21.00 00:12:50.00
12  WHITBURN, Nicole Warragul Cycling Club Inc 03:15:01.00 00:15:30.00
13  LEOW, Uracca Mayalsia 03:19:31.00 00:20:00.00
14  VLAHOPOULOS, Clare Carnegie Caulfield CC 03:19:31.00 00:20:00.00
DNF  ALIAS, Azian Mayalsia    
DNF  HANNING, Rebecca Coburg Cycling Club Inc    
DNF  KING, Jenni MTBA    
DNS  GAUL, Emma Footscray Cycling Club Inc    
DNS  EUSTACE, Vicki Canberra Cycling Club    


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©