Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


Australian Grand Prix of Cycling



WCN quicklink >> Preview     Time Trial    Criterium    Road Race



On this page >>  Write-up     Results 




Ballarat - 33km


Race Writeup

Bendigo cyclist Jessica Berry rode a superb race to claim honours in the women’s criterium, also held over 33 km. Berry (25) missed an early break group and was forced to work a little bit harder than expected to bridge the gap.

It was such a challenging course that it made things very tough if you missed any breaks,” she said.

Berry beat former world champion, Katie Mactier in a tight bunch sprint, with the defending Victorian Criterium champion, Briana James a wheel width away in third spot.  Mactier was gracious in defeat and offered genuine congratulations to Berry, adding “It's great to see such good young talent emerging in women’s cycling in this country.”

It was a modest field of just 13 riders that faced the starter for the women’s event, but the tough course and hard riding from the early leaders Mactier, Rachel Rademaker and Monique Hanley made life difficult for others. James summed up the feelings of most beaten riders when she quite simply stated “I'm absolutely knackered.”

I missed that early break and although we eventually got across, it took too much out of me for the final sprint home.”

Rademaker, had been impressive in Friday’s time trial and although she missed a podium placing in the criterium, she did claim the sprint championship, four points ahead of Mactier.

The women’s road race on Sunday will also be held at Mt Buninyong, starting at 8 a.m. and held over 91.8 km.    


Back to Top



Position Surname / Name Club / Nation Time Gap
1  BERRY, Jessica Bendigo & District CC 00:58:13.00 00:00:00.00
2  MACTIER, Katie Carnegie Caulfield CC 00:58:13.00 00:00:00.00
3  JAMES, Briana Carnegie Caulfield CC 00:58:13.00 00:00:00.00
4  RADEMAKER, Rachel Blackburn Cycling Club Inc 00:58:13.00 00:00:00.00
5  HAYMAN, Elizabeth Canberra Cycling Club 00:58:13.00 00:00:00.00
6  HANLEY, Monique Warragul Cycling Club Inc 00:58:16.00 00:00:03.00
7  LEOW, Uracca Malaysia 00:58:19.00 00:00:06.00
8  KING, Jenni MTBA 00:58:21.00 00:00:08.00
9  WHITBURN, Nicole Warragul Cycling Club Inc 00:58:56.00 00:00:43.00
10  FRAWLEY, Stephanie Mildura-Coomealla C.C. 01:00:09.00 00:01:56.00
11  VLAHOPOULOS, Clare Carnegie Caulfield CC 01:00:09.00 00:01:56.00
12  ALIAS, Azian Malaysia 01:02:05.00 00:03:52.00
13  HANNING, Rebecca Coburg Cycling Club Inc 01:02:05.00 00:03:52.00
DNS  GAUL, Emma Footscray Cycling Club Inc    
DNS  KENESSY, Gemma Brunswick Cycling Club Inc    
DNS  EUSTACE, Vicki Canberra Cycling Club    


Back to Top



Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©