Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklink >>  Stage 1      Stage 1 Full      Stage 2      Stage 2 Full       Stage 3      Stage 3 Full     Stage 4     Stage 4 Full

                               Stage 5      Stage 5 Full    Stage 6     Stage 6 Full   Stage 7A     Stage 7 A Full     Stage 7B    Stage 7B Full

                              Stage 8    Stage 8 Full     Stage 9    Stage 9 Full     Stage 10    Stage 10 Full


On this page >>  Write-up         Results      General Classification     Photos



Tour de l'Aude

Stage 2

Rieux Minervois – Rieux Minervois, 103.5 km

Race Website

Race Write-up

The riders started in heavy rain today on the second stage of the Tour. Taking a basically circular route from Rieux Minvervois in a clockwise direction, the first real climbs of the Tour were tackled today. 

The race stayed together, riding tempo until the climb. A small breakaway went, but was unable to gain any real advantage. As the climb became progressively steeper, the road narrowed and there were more corners. A group went away, driven by the race leader and her team, Loës Gunnewijk (Buitenpoort-Flexpoint). As they went through the first Mountains Competition point, there were several groups on the road. The first contained several T-Mobile riders (Bessette, Bruckner Baldwin, Anderson, Arndt), eventual stage winner, Priska Doppmann (Univega), a number of Équipe Nürnberger riders, including Trixi Worrack, Edita Puckinskaite (Nobili Rubinetterie) and several of the Buitenpoort-Flexpoint team (Gunnewijk, Ljungskog, Melchers van Poppel). Two or three further groups had formed on the climb, but things basically came back together on the descent.

A further set of attacks on the short, but steep climb of Col de la Croix de Sous meant that the race was split into groups again, this time, the gaps created were sustained to the finish line. Some accidents on the run-in caused concern for the Univega and Nürnberger teams. Sarah Grabb (Univega) has a suspected broken collarbone.

The lead group sprinted hard into the narrow finishing straight in Rieux Minervois and it was Priska Doppmann who had the best legs. She crossed the line for a clear win over Trixi Worrack and Theresa Send (AA Drink). The race lead stayed with the Buitenpoort-Flexpoint team but moved from Loës Gunnewijk to Susanne Ljungskog.


Back to Top


Results - Top 10 - click here to see full result

Position Name Surname Team E = U23 Time / Gap

3h 0' 59"

10'' bonus
2 Trixi WORRACK NUR same 6'' bonus
3 Théresa SENFF AAD same 4'' bonus
4 Amber NEBEN BFL same
5 Judith ARNDT TMP same
6 Sofie GOOR BEL same
7 Madeleine SANDIG BFL same
8 Maryline SALVETAT FRA same
9 Susanne LJUNGSKOG BFL same

Back to Top


General Classification Top 10 - click here to see full GC

Position Name Surname Team E = U23 Time / Gap
1 Susanne LJUNGSKOG BFL 3 38'8’‘
3 Amber NEBEN BFL 00' 01’‘
4 Madeleine SANDIG BFL E 00' 02’‘
5 Judith ARNDT TMP 00' 18’‘
6 Kimberly ANDERSON TMP 00' 21’‘
7 Trixi WORRACK NUR 00' 26’‘
8 Priska DOPPMANN UPT 00' 32’‘
9 Eva LUTZ NUR same
10 Claudia HAUSLER NUR E same

Back to Top


Photos   Click on any image to enlarge >>

IMG_3701 IMG_3710 IMG_3723 IMG_3725 IMG_3750
IMG_3755 IMG_3759 IMG_3771 IMG_3775 IMG_3779
IMG_3780 IMG_3848 IMG_3856 IMG_3857 IMG_3868
IMG_3869 IMG_3881 IMG_3886 IMG_3912 IMG_3930
IMG_3942 IMG_3943 IMG_3947 IMG_3959 IMG_3973
IMG_3981 IMG_3989 IMG_4006  IMG_4026

Back to Top


Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006 ©