Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklinks >>   Awards Night Preview        


Awards Winners Honoured

Cycling Australia's Cyclists of the Year

Presented in Sydney Friday 25th November

Cycling Australia website 

The gala night of celebration at Sydney's Rydges Jamison Hotel was attended by a host of Australia's cycling stars. The ceremonies recognised the outstanding achievements and performances by Australian cyclists. In 2005 Australia topped the medal table at the Road World Championships in Madrid, a feat inconceivable ten years ago. Australia won more medals than any other nation at the Elite Track World Championships in Los Angeles while the Junior track team bagged seven medals at their World Championships in Vienna.

Australia's MTB riders collected five World Championship medals in Livigno and another nine World Championship medals came back to Australia from the BMX World Titles in France. Australia's Disability Cyclists collected 16 medals at the IPC European Championships and our pro road riders, both men and women, scored a host of victories in races during the season.

One of the most emotional announcements was the naming of Australian Women's Coach, Warren McDonald as the SBS Television Coach of the Year. McDonald stepped to the microphone and said 'triumph and tragedy' putting into words the feelings of everyone in the room.

"This goes to the family of cycling," said McDonald as tears filled his eyes at the memory of the terrible day in July this year when his six woman team was run down by an out of control car. Champion cyclist and Olympic rower Amy Gillett died in the accident and her five team mates were seriously injured. "But to not recognise (and support) Amy and the Foundation in her name would be an even greater tragedy."

"Cyclists who don the green and gold of the 'Cyclones' have the talent and character to inspire and no one did that better than Amy Gillett," said Cycling Australia President, Mike Victor in his welcoming message. "The courage and spirit of her team mates and Warren (McDonald) has been remarkable as has the way in which the entire cycling family came together in the wake of the tragedy."

Professional cyclist Olivia Gollan paid tribute to Amy's zest for life and laughter and praised the courage of Alexis Rhodes, Lorian Graham, Kate Nichols, Katie Brown and Louise Yaxley who reunited last night for the first time since leaving the Jena University Hospital in Germany.

"From this tragedy we have rallied in the true Australian spirit," said Gollan before proposing a toast. "To absent friends."

In the other awards presented Melbourne's Katie Mactier, who claimed the gold medal and rainbow jersey in the Individual Pursuit at the World Championships, was named Female Track Cyclist of the Year and Wollongong's Ben Kersten, the World Cup Series Champion for the kilometre time trial, won the male award.

cyclingnews.com Female Road Cyclist of the Year was awarded to world ranked number one and two time World Cup Series Champion, Oenone Wood. Katrina Miller claimed the women's mountain bike award after a year that saw her take out the NORBA 4X Series crown and claim silver at the World Titles.

West Australian Jane Armstrong scored the Female Disability Cyclist honour based on her two golds and one silver medal and a world record ride at the European Championships.

The GT BMX Cyclist of the Year award went to Renee Junga. The Cycling Australia Event Merit Award was presented to the Melbourne to Warnambool Classic which has been running since 1895.

Awards were also presented in junior, masters and media categories.

2005 Australian Cyclist of the Year Award Winners


Track Cyclist of the Year
Katie Mactier

cyclingnews.com Road Cyclist of the Year
Oenone Wood

MTB Cyclist of the Year
Katrina Miller

GT BMX Cyclist of the Year
Renee Junga

Disability Cyclist of the Year
Jane Armstrong

Junior MTB Cyclist of the Year
Tracey Hannah

SBS Television Coach of the Year
Warren McDonald

Masters Cyclist of the Year
Julie Barnett

Junior Track Cyclist of the Year
Skye-Lee Armstrong

Junior Road Cyclist of the Year
Amanda Spratt

Junior BMX Cyclist of the Year
Nicole Callisto


Barnett.jpg (44824 bytes)Wood.jpg (60904 bytes)


Back to top




Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006