Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklinks >>   Award Winners           


Awards Finalists Announced

Cycling Australia's finalists for Cyclist of the Year

The "Oppys" will be presented in Sydney this Friday (25th November)

Cycling Australia website 

Cycling Australia is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2005 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards - 'The Oppys' - to be presented at a  on Friday November 25th at the Rydges Jamison hotel in Sydney. This gala night of celebration will recognise the outstanding achievements and performances of Australian cyclists in 2005.

The awards marks the tenth anniversary of the amalgamation of amateur and professional cycling and is the tenth year Cycling Australia has bestowed the awards in their current form.

"In this anniversary year the future of cycling looks healthy indeed with double the growth rate of racing membership over the past year and increased participation in events across the country," said Cycling Australia President, Mike Victor OAM.  "2005, the year following Athens where Australian cyclists were so dominant, placed high expectations on our cyclists, coaches and support staff. But I am proud to say it didn’t phase them. On the contrary, they simply excelled in 2005."

Australia topped the medal table at the Road World Championships in Madrid, a feat inconceivable ten years ago. Australia won more medals than any other nation at the Elite Track World Championships in Los Angeles while the Junior track team bagged seven medals at their World Championships in Vienna.

"Our MTB riders collected five World Championship medals in Livigno and another nine World Championship medals came back to Australia from France with our BMX riders.," said Mr Victor. "At the IPC European Championships our team almost had to pay for excess baggage on the 16 medals they packed to bring back from the Netherlands."

Awards will be presented in a range of categories with one category winner receiving the coveted Sir Hubert Opperman Medal as 2005 Australian Cyclist of the Year.

Finalists for the 2005 Australian Cyclist of the Year Awards

The women under consideration for the awards are : 


 Female Track Cyclist
   Katherine Bates
   Katie Mactier
   Anna Meares

cyclingnews.com Female Road Cyclist
   Rochelle Gilmore
   Kathryn Watt
   Oenone Wood

Female MTB Cyclist
   Emma Colson
   Katrina Miller

GT Female BMX Cyclist
   Tanya Bailey
   Krystal Cranfield
   Renee Junga

Female Disability Cyclist
   Jane Armstrong
   Angela Fleming
   Clair McLean


Female Masters Cyclist
   Julie Barnett
   Tabatha Cole
   Liz Randall

Junior Female Track Cyclist
   Skye-Lee Armstrong
   Chloe MacPherson
   Bianca Rogers

Junior Female Road Cyclist
   Tiffany Cromwell
   Tess Downing
   Amanda Spratt

Junior Female MTB Cyclist
   Tracey Hannah
   Erica Oldfield

Junior Female BMX Cyclist
   Nicole Callisto
   Nikki Harper
   Melissa Mankowski


In determining the awards the following criteria are taken into consideration in weighted order:

    Performance at principal world events (World Champs, Olympics etc)
    Performance at major international events (World Cups, UCI Calendar events, Commonwealth Games etc)
    Performance at premier domestic level (National Champs & Series, annual classics etc)
    Consistency of Performances
    Ambassadorship for the sport of cycling.


Back to top




Want to contact WomensCycling.net? 

The WomensCycling.net email address is


To contact the webmaster, the address is :

Type this address into the "To" line of a new email message in your email programme.

The WomensCycling.net email address is displayed as a graphic in order to reduce the amount of 'spam' email received from programmes which 'crawl' the internet for sites with addresses displayed in text and then overwhelm that address with junk, or even forge the address in junk messages that they generate and send to others. Sorry for any inconvenience this approach causes you.


Back to top


Copyright WomensCycling.net 2004, 2005, 2006