Latest Additions

 Calendar 2008


Photo Gallery


New To Cycling?

2007 Archive (and earlier)


WCN quicklink >>      2007 coverage        2006 coverage      2005 coverage       2004 coverage


Race Overview

Jayco Bay Cycling Classic

Wednesday 5th January - Sunday 9th January

(incorporating Australian Championships (Friday) & Victorian State Championships (Sunday))


Once the series starts, you will be able to click below to go to daily results > 

Overview Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5

Series Overview

The Jayco Bay Classic is in its 12th year of women's events and 14th year of racing overall. 

Click below to jump to previews on this page of each cirsuit : 

Day 1   Day 2   Day 3   Day 4   Day 5  Start List

The format is 5 criterium races - one each day -  winners and placed riders are awarded points each race and the rider with the most points at hte end of the series wins overall. There is also a team prize -which is also based on points which are awarded to the best 3 teams overall.

Previous winners of the women's overall races are : 

2004 Oenone Wood (ACT)

2003  Kate Bates (NSW)

2002  Rochelle Gilmore (NSW)

2001  Anna Millward (Vic)

2000  Karen Barrow (Vic)

1999  Anna Wilson (Vic)



1998  Anna Wilson (Vic)

1997  Sandra Smith (WA)

1996  Anna Wilson (Vic)

1995  Kathy Watt (Vic)

1994  Kathy Watt (Vic)


Click here to see WomensCycling.net coverage of the 2004 race


Race Programme

Day 1 Wednesday, January 5

Williamstown Start: 12.30 pm, finish: 3.30 pm

A square circuit in this bayside town - there will plenty of action as the riders jump out of hte saddle to acclerate out of hte 4 corners per lap. 

Winner 2004  - Oenone Wood


Day 2 Thursday, January 6

Portarlington Start: 12.30 pm, finish: 3.30 pm

Billed by hte organisers as the most challenging circuit in the series. There is a tight corner just after the start / finsh and also a punishing climb every lap.

Winner 2004  - Oenone Wood


Day 3 Friday, January 7

Geelong - Ritchie Boulevard Start: 5.00 pm, finish: 9.00 pm

A 'hotdog' circuit along seafront in Geelong. Just 750m per pancake-flat lap means that it is difficult to get out of sight of the bunch. 

Winner 2004 - Emma James


Day 4 Saturday, January 8

Geelong Botanic Gardens Start: 5.00 pm, finish: 9.00 pm

A longer Geelong circuit about 1km. Just a few hundred metres from the Ritcie Boulevard circuit, this - technical, with a leg-sapping climb and some tight bends. This is a hard day of racing.

Winner 2004 - Rochelle Gilmore


Day 5 Sunday, January 9

Docklands Start: 10.00 am, finish: 1.30 pm

Another 'hotdog' circuit - in front of hte Telstradome in Melbourne's Docklands. This final circuit has 550m stragihts and a slight climb towards the City end of the loop.

Winner 2004 - Oenone Wood




Start List


Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne

1 Oenone Wood (ACT)

2 Linda Capello (ACT)

3 Jessie Maclean (ACT)

4 Sky-Lee Armstrong (NSW)

5 Jessica Tanner (Vic)


Jayco VIS

6 Katie Mactier (VIC) withdrawn - ill - click here for story

7 Helen Kelly (VIC)

8 April Eppinger (VIC)

9 Jenny MacPherson (VIC)

10 Emma Rickard (VIC)


Drapac- Porsche Cycling Team

11 Kirsty Bortolin (Vic)

12 Belinda Goss (TAS)

13 Tess Downing (VIC)

14 Tori Freeland (VIC)

15 Gemma Goyne (VIC)



16 Bianca Rogers (VIC)

17 Jemma Crean (VIC)

18 Renee Braithwaite (VIC)

19 Naomi Williams (VIC)

20 Claire Baxter (VIC)


Mercure Geelong

21 Haley Rutherford (WA)

22 Emma James (NSW)

23 Tiffany Cromwell (SA)

24 Meridth Miller (USA) withdrawn injured click here for story  

Replaced by Caroline Jackson (no.38)

25 Bridget Evans (QLD)



26 Amanda Spratt (NSW)

27 Kate Nichols (NSW)

28 Christine Riakos (NSW)

29 Rochelle Gilmore (NSW)

30 Katie Brown (NSW)


Bike Now

31 Briana James (VIC)

32 Kerryn Charman (VIC)

33 Cheryl Walker (VIC)

34 Nikki Matthews (VIC)

35 Peta Mullens (VIC)


Individual riders

36 Sarah White (Bicisport)

37 Karina Wilkinson (New Zealand)

38 Caroline Jackson (Great Britian) - now riding for Mercure Geelong 

39 Karen Hopkinson (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

40 Emma Ringer (Illawarra CC)

41 Emma Mackie (Albury-Wodonga CC)

42 Cristine Foster (St Kilda Cycling Club Inc)







43 Emma Colson (Team Mount Beauty)

44 Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Canberra Cycling Club)

45 Jenni King (Fat Tyre Flyers)

46 Angela Wade (Melton Cycling Club Inc)

47 Maryam Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

48 Louise Bourke (Blackburn Cycling Club Inc)








Back to top