Latest Additions to the Site
Calendar of Events 2005

World & National Champions 2005

WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)       WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)  


Photo Gallery

 Products of the Year
New to Cycling?
2004 Archive

2003 Archive


2002 Archive

Sponsorship by WomensCycling.net

The "Small Print" click here



Race Results

Zoo Hair Salon National League Round 3


Julie O’Hagan (Dublin Wheelers) extended her lead in the Zoo Hair Salon National League yesterday by winning the Waller Cup in Bohermeen. Sunny conditions and an encouraging turnout of riders set the scene for an interesting and demanding race. The Chairwoman of the Women’s Commission, Valerie Considine, started the proceedings by presenting O’Hagan with the new Zoo Thairapy Leader’s Jersey before the race.

Marie Reilly and Brendan Whelan handicapped the riders into two groups, and set a seven-minute time gap over the 40 mile, 4 lap course. The first group contained five riders, including promising newcomer Mary Mulchrone of Western Lakes . Among the second group were O’Hagan, 2003 US Cyclo-Cross National Champion Mary Ann Martinez who was over on holidays, and second placed rider in the league, Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers).

The strong scratch group rode steadily and started to catch riders on the second lap. By the half-way point on the third lap, all of the first group had been caught, and none of the scratch riders had been dropped. Without the need to chase, the pace dropped, and several riders attempted to get away. None were successful, but an attack made by O’Hagan and marked by Ashling Daly (Orwell Wheelers) in the last mile resulted in a slight split in the front group. The final sprint was won by O’Hagan, with Daly taking second and Gillian McDarby (The Bagal Bar) in third.

Julie’s win is her third straight win in the Zoo Thairapy League, and puts her at the top of the table with the maximum 33 points. Hendron holds on to her second place with 25 points, and Julie Mulligan’s (Omagh Wheelers) result from yesterday puts her in third place, 2 points ahead of Trudy Brown (Northern CC).

The fourth round of the National League takes place on 8th May at the Tommy Sheehan Memorial in Carrick-on-Suir.

Round 3 Results

1. Julie O'Hagan ( Dublin Wheelers)
2. Ashling Daly (Orwell Wheelers)
3. Gillian McDarby (The Bagal Bar)
4. Roisin Kennedy (Usher IRC)
5. Julie Mulligan (Omagh Wheelers)
6. Mary Brennan ( Western Lakes )

Overall League Standings

1. Julie O'Hagan (Dublin Wheelers) - 33 points
2. Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers) - 25 points
3. Julie Mulligan (Omagh Wheelers) - 22 points
4. Trudy Brown (Northern CC) - 20 points


Back to top