Latest Additions to the Site
Calendar of Events 2005

World & National Champions 2005

WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)       WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)WorldStripes.jpg (2518 bytes)  


Photo Gallery

 Products of the Year
New to Cycling?
2004 Archive

2003 Archive


2002 Archive

Sponsorship by WomensCycling.net

The "Small Print" click here



Boot Inn League - Ireland

Summer 2005

Once the races start, you will be able to click below to go to individual race results > 

Overview Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Series Update after Rnd 3 Race 4 Race 5 Race 6 & Series Update Race 7 Race 8 Race 9 & Series Update Race 10 & Final Series Result


Race Overview

Great Start to Boot Inn League.

There was an attacking start to the 2005 edition of the Boot Inn League last night.

The H/Capped event was boosted by a strong field of experienced riders which included National Road Race Champion and Current Classic League Leader, Julie O’Hagan, Boot Inn Overall Winner in 2004, Roisin Kennedy , and the in-form Orla Hendron from the strong Orwell Wheelers Women’s Team.

Cycling Ireland National head Coach Padraig Marrey was present and watched the racing from the Lead Car. He also presented the prizes after the race.

The first Stage also saw the welcome return to Women’s racing of the Women’s Commission Chairman - Valerie Considine.

The three lap Race was handicapped into three bunches, Chloe Farrell (Kilcullen) and Valerie Considine(Usher) attacked the first group soon after the start, and they had lost very little time on the scratch group after the first lap.

An attack from Caroline Kearney (Swords) was closely marked by Roisin Kennedy (Usher IRC) on the second lap. Both riders quickly put a lot of time into the scratch group, and they soon began catching the riders ahead.

They picked up Geraldine Meehan (Lakeside Wheelers) and Deborah Byrne (Bray Wheelers) from the second group and the four riders closed in on the race leaders Farrell and Considine.

The chasers made contact with less than half a lap to go, and Kearney and Kennedy attacked and counter-attacked each other approaching the finish.

They were closely marked by Meehan, and the three riders contested the sprint for the line, with Caroline Kearney winning from Geraldine Meehan , with Roisin Kennedy 3rd.

Deborah Byrne came home fourth with Valerie Considine and Chloe Farrell taking fifth and sixth prizes after their long breakaway.

Results - Race 1

1  Caroline Kearney – Swords C.C. 

2  Geraldine Meehan – Lakeside Wheelers 

3  Roisin Kennedy - Usher I.R.C. 

4  Deborah Byrne – Bray Wheelers 

5  Valerie Considine – Usher IRC 

6  Chloe Farrell – Kilcullen



For further information on Women’s Cycling or the Boot inn League

Contact: Orla Hendron  0862500754

Report and pictures on  www.cyclinglucan.com


Back to top


Click below to go to results of :

Race 1
Race 2
Race 3
Series Update after Rnd 3
Race 4
Race 5
Race 6  & series update
Race 7
Race 8
Race 9  & Series Update

Race 10 & Series Final

 The "Small Print" click here