Race Results

Round 6 - Stephen  Smyth Memorial 10 mile time trial

Final Series Standings

Ann McFarland (Omagh Wheelers) showed the class which earned her a N Ireland Championship and 5th place in the Irish Road Race Championship when she rode clear to win the final round of the www.womenscycling.net League. 

Regulars to the womenscycling.net site might remember that it was only just over a year ago that McFarland rode her first ever time trial and was seen competing in a neck brace, following surgery. (See photo in the gallery, below).

Following a few moves involving herself and Irish squad riders Mary Boyd and Trudy Brown she finally broke clear alone and had the strength to time trial to the finish and take a fine victory with time to spare for a big smile and a victory salute.

With Mary Boyd, Trudy Brown and Julie Mulligan concentrating on overall league positions it was a classic move which had a great chance of success and despite a hard chase being coordinated by the remaining riders Ann proved just too strong to be caught.

Mary Boyd used her ever reliable sprint to secure second place and overall league victory.


Race Result Top 10 

1                    A McFarland (Omagh Wheelers)

2                    M Boyd (Roe Valley)

3                    F Brown (Orchard Wheelers)

4                    C Clarke (Bann Valley)

5                    J Mulligan (Omagh Wheelers)

6                    T Brown (Northern CC)

7                    C Hack (Bann Wheelers)

8                    E Turkington (Clann Eirann)

9                    J Murphy (Maryland Wheelers)

10                  E Harte (Phoenix)

Final Series Standings


Back to top

Latest Additions to the Site
Race Results
Calendar of Events 2004
World & National Champions 2004
 Products of the Year

Photo Gallery

New to Cycling?
2003 Archive
2002 Archive
Sponsorship by WomensCycling.net
Final_01.jpg (28006 bytes)
Ann McFarland - making her decisive break.
Click above for more photos
 The "Small Print" click here