Race Results

WomensCycling.net Team Series 8  


Team Series 1   Team Series 2     Team Series 3    Team Series 4  Team Series 5      Team Series 6     Team Series 7     Team Series 8     Team Series Standings To Date

Apologies for the 'gremlins' on this page earlier in the week. The race results got mixed up with the write-up from Race 7. The report below is the correct one now. 


Received from Team Series organiser Jon Miles : 

"Apologies to Emma Dansie who was missed from the results of the Women's Team Race Series event on 31 August at Beckford. Emma was in 15th place with the same time as winner Di Moss" 

Individual   Team 

Diane Moss - Team Luciano, won the Women's Team Race Series event held on the Bredon circuit in a tight sprint with Nina Davies - Team Letchworth and so firmly established Team Luciano as the top women's team in road racing this season.

Held near Cheltenham over 3 laps of a circuit that made up 47 miles of hilly racing, this penultimate race in the popular women's series attracted only 29 riders but this did not mean the race was slow. Comberton Hill was the major difficulty on the course and the first time up South African Chrystal Sheldon - Surrey League and Ceri Dipple - Team Milton Keynes both lost contact but Ceri, after a kilometre chase, was able to get back to the bunch again and finish with an excellent placing.

The first proper attack came with 15 miles covered at Conderton and the chase was led by Julie O'Hagan - CC Luton; 20 miles were covered in the first hour. 21 miles gone and Nina Davies and Emma Silversides - Cheltenham & County attacked to force a gap but they were caught within half a mile.

No sooner were they caught than Heather Summers - East Midlands attacked and was chased down by Team Luciano. Onto Comberton Hill again and it was O'Hagan attacking with Davies leading the chase; 36 miles covered and again Summers was on the attack but she was caught by the vigilant bunch. A mile later and it was Team Letchworth's Jeanette Tebbutt with Davies on the front with Nicola Wadham - Surrey League, just beginning to lose contact.

The last time up the main hill and Helen Paull - CC Weymouth, Ali Armstrong - Surrey League and Georgina Rawson - Team Luciano lost contact. Into the finishing lane and as the bunch swept round the corner it was Helen Gutteridge -East Midlands on the front followed by Team Letchworth's Nina Davies but Gutteridge ran wide, unshipped her chain with Davies managing to swing round her, leading up the finishing hill with Diane Moss glued to her back wheel until with 50 metres to go Moss showed why she is the leading rider by taking the verdict by half a bike length.

A chirpy Nina Davies said afterwards " Coming back from riding the GP Plouay with the GB team I really came here to win but ........... bike racing is unpredictable".

Team Result Points
Surrey League A 177
Evans Racing Team 194
East Midlands 89
Team Luciano 214
Team Letchworth 116
Team Milton Keynes 104
CC Luton 53
CC Weymouth 41
Cheltenham & County CC 50
VC Lincoln 51

Back to Top


Position Name Name Team Points
1 Diane Moss Team Luciano 60
2 Nina Davies Team Letchworth 59
3 Ruth Gamwell Team Luciano 58
4 Jeanette Tebbutt Team Letchworth 57
5 Kelly Grant Team Milton Keynes 56
6 Della McGiven Surrey League 55
7 Sharon Padley Team Luciano 54
8 Julie O'Hagan CC Luton 53
9 Allison Butler Evans Cycles 52
10 Gabriella Day VC Lincoln 51
11 Emma Silversides Cheltenham & County 50
12 Claire Paginton Evans Cycles 49
13 Ceri Dipple Team Milton Keynes 48
14 Annette Nielson Evans Cycles 47
16 Caroline Gay Evans Cycles 46
17 Heather Summers East Midlands 45
18 Helen Gutteridge East Midlands 44
19 Abigail Armstrong Surrey League 43
20 Georgina Rawson Team Luciano 42
21 Helen Paull CC Weymouth 41
22 Nicola Wadham Surrey League 40
23 Chrystal Sheldon Surrey League 39

Back to Top

Results - time gaps

1. Diane Moss Team Luciano 2 hrs 14 mins 22 secs

2. Nina Davies Team Letchworth same time

3. Ruth Gamwell Team Luciano same time

4. Jeanette Tebbutt Team Letchworth same time

5. Kelly Grant Team Milton Keynes same time

6. Della McGiven Surrey League same time

7. Sharon Padley Team Luciano same time

8. Julie O'Hagan CC Luton same time

9. Allison Butler Evans Cycles same time

10. Gabriella Day VC Lincoln same time

11. Emma Silversides Cheltenham & County same time

12. Claire Paginton Evans Cycles same time

13. Ceri Dipple Team Milton Keynes same time

14. Annette Nielson Evans Cycles same time

15. Emma Dansie Surrey League same time

16. Caroline Gay Evans Cycles same time

17. Heather Summers East Midlands at 5 seconds

18. Helen Gutteridge East Midlands at 35 seconds

19. Abigail Armstrong Surrey League same time

20 Georgina Rawson Team Luciano same time

21. Helen Paull CC Weymouth at 1 minute

22. Nicola Wadham Surrey League at 1 min 20 secs

23. Chrystal Sheldon Surrey League at 3 minutes


Back to Top