From Daniel LaRouche


Phoenix, Arizona, February 16, 2003

For the third consecutive year, Team RONA's Geneviève Jeanson scored a convincing win at the Valley of the Sun Race, the now traditional pre-season event held in Arizona. Jeanson won not only the general classification, but also each of the three stages. She beat her ex-teammate Manon Jutras, now with Saturn, and the French national Catherine Marsal, who managed to climb on the podium for her first race in her new RONA colors.

Jeanson won Friday's 20-km time trial, four seconds ahead of Jutras and six seconds ahead of Marsal.

The second stage, Saturday, was a 92-km road race, in the desert near Phoenix. The race covered three and a half laps on a rectangular, relatively flat course, with a false flat turning into a slight climb over the last 2 km. After an uneventful race Jeanson won the sprint in front of Canadian Susan Palmer-Komar (Genesis Scuba). Jeanson picked up a few bonus seconds by winning intermediate sprints.

Today's stage was a 40-minute criterium in the streets of Phoenix. Trying to get Marsal to climb from third to second place in GC, Jeanson and her teammates attacked continuously, but Saturn held on. The two teams controlled the pack for the last five laps and Jeanson was the first to cross the finish line, ahead of Lynn Gaggioli.

Apart from Jeanson and Marsal, Team RONA was represented in this race by Karen Bockel (GER), Andrea Hannos (CAN), Kristen LaSasso (USA) and Carrie Tuck (CAN)


Final General Classification
1	Geneviève Jeanson (CAN, RONA)	Final times not available
2	Manon Jutras (CAN, Saturn)	
3	Catherine Marsal (FRA, RONA)	
First Stage Standings
Trek Time Trial
1	Geneviève Jeanson (CAN, RONA)	20 km in 28'37'' (avg. 41,93 km/h)
2	Manon Jutras (CAN, Saturn Timex)	4"
3	Catherine Marsal (FRA, RONA)	6"
4	Jessica Phillips (USA, Saturn Timex)	1' 16"
5	Susan Cooper (USA, Team Zombies)	1' 20"
6	Andrea Hannos (CAN, RONA)	s.t.
10	Karen Bockel (GER, RONA)	1' 51"
Second Stage Standings
Landis Cyclery Road Race
1	Geneviève Jeanson (CAN, RONA)	92 km in 2h 40' 17'' (avg. 34,4 km/h)
2	Susan Palmer-Komar (CAN, Genesis Scuba)	s.t. 
3	Lynn Gaggioli (USA, D&R Sportivo)	s.t. 
4	Amy Moore (CAN, Saturn Timex)	s.t.
5	Maatji Benassi (USA, Intermountain Cycling)	s.t.
Third Stage Standings
Carlos O'Brien Criterium, Phoenix
1	Geneviève Jeanson (CAN, RONA)	40'
2	Lynn Gaggioli (USA, D&R Sportivo)	s.t.  


Team RONA is one of only two Canadian women's cycling teams in the elite category that are recognized by the International Cycling Union. The team is made up of four Canadian racers (Geneviève Jeanson, Andrea Hannos, Carrie Tuck and Erinne Willock), French racers Catherine Marsal and Magali Le Floc'h, New Zealander Melissa Holt, German Karen Bockel and American Kristen LaSasso.

RONA is Canada's leading hardware and home improvement retailer. Its website is at www.rona.ca.

The team also receives equipment and service sponsorships from many companies, including Colnago, Biemme, Shimano, Michelin, Mavic, Diadora, Limar, Selle Italia, ITM, Look, CatEye, Tacx, Finish Line, Cane Creek, Saris, Power Tap, Trialtir, Cycles Lambert and Club Médico-Sportif.


      Send your news now...... Email.gif (1949 bytes)