Race Results

St Kilda CC (Aus)

Port Melbourne, Melbourne Victoria

From - Nicole Huntriss

Sunday 24th November saw the first race in Cyclesport Victoria's Women's Summer Criterium Series take place at SKCC's Boundary Rd, Port Melbourne circuit.  This was the first race in a series of six (details available on http://www.viccycle.com.au/WomensCycling/womcritserise.htm).  Sunday's race saw seventeen riders participating, and was divided into two categories, Elite (for experienced racers) and Sport (for newer cyclists and first timers).  The two bunches started separately and contested two intermediate sprints (for points in the overall series Sprint Queen competition), in their 30min race.  After some closely contested intermediate sprints, both races ended in a bunch sprint.  The winning move was made by Lyndelle Higginson in the elite category by getting the jump on the bunch out of the last corner, while the Cynthia Godman took line honours in the sport category sprint for the line.

Results for the Sport category:

1. Cynthia Goodman
2. Amber Pratt
3. Liz Randell

Sprint Queen Points Leader after Race 1: Cynthia Goodman

Results for the Elite category:

1. Lyndelle Higginson
2. Kirsty Bortolin
3. Kerrie Baumgartner
4. Karen Hopkinson

Sprint Queen Points Leader after Race 1: Kirsty Bortolin

(note: points were allocated for the first six places in each category 1st - 7, 2nd - 5. 3rd - 4, 4th - 3, 5th - 2, 6th - 1, the rider with the most points in each category at the end of the six races will be the series winner)

 Send your news now...... Email.gif (1949 bytes)